back to webinars

Detecting Alzheimer’s Disease Pathology in Blood

date

June 21, 2022

time & location

11AM EDT | 4PM BST | 5PM CEST, Virtual

The development of blood biomarkers that reflect Alzheimer’s disease (AD) pathophysiology has offered potential as scalable tests for dementia differential diagnosis and early detection. Blood phosphorylated tau (p-tau) is elevated across the AD continuum. In primary and secondary care, p-tau provides evidence of underlying AD pathology which can be informative in the differential diagnosis of dementia and patient management. Preclinically, p-tau highlights dementia risk, aids strategies in therapeutic trial recruitment and potentially outcome measures.

In this webcast, recent data will demonstrate the ability of p-tau and other blood biomarkers to detect the accumulation of amyloid pathology in asymptomatic individuals. Further, in the symptomatic phase, data will show the capability of p-tau biomarkers (including different epitopes and analytical platforms) to detect AD pathology in a heterogenous memory clinic population – which are comparable to clinically validated cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) tests.

You will learn:

  • How easily accessible blood tests can help to identify early amyloid pathology in asymptomatic individuals or in a heterogeneous population with cognitive complaints
  • How phosphorylated tau relates to AD pathology
  • What different epitopes of p-tau are promising as blood-based AD biomarkers

Speaker: Dr. Nicholas Ashton, Asst. Professor of Neurochemistry, University of Gothenburg