back to webinars

Employing Serum NfL Measurements For Management Of Multiple Sclerosis

date

May 11, 2022

time & location

8:00 am PT, 11:00 am ET, 17:00 CET, Virtual

Multiple sclerosis (MS) affects close to 3 million people worldwide, and incidence rates have risen over the past decade. Currently, there is no established laboratory test to diagnose or monitor disease activity or progression of MS. In recent years, mounting evidence has shown the promise of measuring serum neurofilament light chain (sNfL) levels for prognostic and treatment monitoring purposes. However, the clinical and diagnostic utility of sNfL levels at the individual level has been constrained by the lack of statistically powered determination of reference ranges.

In this GEN webinar, our distinguished guests, Prof Jens Kuhle and Kevin Hrusovsky will discuss a recent Lancet Neurology paper performed at the University of Basel to establish reference ranges for “normal” sNfL levels. The study, for which Dr. Kuhle is the lead author, is the most comprehensive to date, examining 20,000 samples from a diverse set of donors that spanned different age groups and body mass indexes, factors known to affect sNfL values. This webinar will show how sNfL measurements have the potential to close the diagnostic gap in the detection of subclinical disease activity and a path forward for routine use in personalized medicine for MS patients.


REGISTER NOW